TATA IPL 2022: Schedule, venues, dates, timings | All you need to know

Since its relocation to the UAE for the past two years, the IPL is now all set to make a comeback in India as the pandemic loses its grip over the world. The IPL will seemingly be bigger, better and bolder as the tournament adds two new teams to the fray, which previously consisted of 8 teams.

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings, will kick off the season against Kolkata Knight Riders on March 26th at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. A total of 70 league matches and 4 playoffs will be played over the duration of 65 days which will comprise of 12 double-headers. Mumbai and Pune will host all the league matches whilst Ahmedabad will host the playoffs, as per the new format.

More details on this new format below:

IPL 2022 Groups

The 10 teams are divided in 2 groups based on the number of titles won. Each team will face the other 4 teams in their group and one team from the other group twice, while facing the other 4 teams from the other group once.

For example, Mumbai Indians will face all teams in Group A twice and will face the Chennai Super Kings twice as well. They will play the remaining teams of Group B only once.

Likewise, Gujarat Titans will face all teams in Group B twice and will face Lucknow Supergiants twice while facing other teams in Group A once.

Group AGroup B
Mumbai Indians (5)Chennai Super Kings (4)
Kolkata Knight Riders (2)Sunrisers Hyderabad (1)
Rajasthan Royals (1)Royal Challengers Bangalore
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings
Lucknow SuperGiantsGujarat Titans

IPL 2022 Overview

IPL 2022 Schedule26th March 2022 — 29th May 2022
HostBCCI i.e. Board of Control for Cricket in India
Host CountryIndia
Match FormatT20(20 Overs)
IPL 2022 First Match26th March 2022
IPL Final Match29th May 2022
Number Of Teams10
Name Of TeamsChennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Ahmedabad Lions & Lucknow Nawabs.
Number Of Total Matches74
Official Website of IPLiplt20.com

Comments are closed.